Industry News

Did you really choose the right Ethernet Cable?


Did you really choose the right Ethernet Cable?


Have you ever encountered such a situation, it is clear that you use 300M, 500M home broadband at home, but the network speed has not been able to go up? If the Ethernet Cable is not selected correctly, it will also affect the broadband Internet speed!


 Isn't Ethernet Cable universal? Do I need to use a dedicated Ethernet Cable?

 The answer is yes, there are also types of Ethernet Cable, just like a highway, a 6-lane road is definitely better than a 3-lane road. With the increase of bandwidth, the requirements of Ethernet Cable for network transmission are getting higher and higher. The humble Ethernet Cable is very likely to be the "culprit" limiting the speed of your home

When we use the network, the Ethernet Cable is an important medium for network signal transmission. After the optical fiber is connected to the optical modem, the Ethernet Cable connects the optical modem and the terminal/router.



About Ethernet Cable

Ethernet Cable can be roughly divided into nine categories from its inception to the present. The first four categories are old and have been almost eliminated. Common Ethernet Cables on the market include Category 5 (cat5), Category 5 (cat5e), Category 6 (cat6), Category 6 (cat6a), Category 7 (cat7).

The higher the grade of the Ethernet Cable, the faster the transmission speed: Category 6 cable> Category 5 super cable> Category 5 cable.

With 100M and Gigabit broadband, then there are 100M and Gigabit network cables. For example, Gigabit Ethernet Cable refers to a Ethernet Cable suitable for Gigabit networks.



 How to distinguish Gigabit Ethernet Cable?

The easiest way to distinguish the Ethernet Cable is to observe the markings on the outer skin of the Ethernet Cable. The logo of Category 5 cables is "CAT5", the logo of Category 5 cables is "CAT5e", the logo of Category 6 cables is " CAT6", and so on. Now there are enhanced Category 6 cables and Category 7 cables. Can be distinguished by identification.


Category 5 Ethernet Cable "CAT5" does not support Gigabit: Category 5 cable is the most used line before, and its maximum transmission rate is only 100Mbps, which is suitable for network environments below 100M.


Category 5e Ethernet Cable "CAT5e" supports Gigabit: Category 5e Ethernet Cable is the current mainstream product. It has low attenuation, strong anti-interference ability, and the highest transmission rate can reach 1000Mbps. It is a substitute for Category 5 cable, 100M The above-mentioned optical fiber network environment all adopt the super five kinds of lines. If your home has upgraded to gigabit broadband, check if there is a "CAT.5e" or higher-performance network cable on your home Ethernet Cable. If not, just change one.


Category 6 Ethernet Cable "CAT6" supports Gigabit: The transmission frequency of Category 6 cable is higher than that of Category 5 and Super Category 5 cables, and its comprehensive attenuation and anti-interference performance are significantly better than the first two types of Ethernet Cables, and the highest transmission rate can be Up to 1Gbps.